arrow-nextarrow-prev close cocotte hamburger lock logo-footerlogo-home-xs couvertstoque quote-closequote-open spiral twitterverre
Pacherenc du Vic-Bilh wines

The little known gem of the Southwest

Pacherenc du Vic-Bilh comes from the compression of the Béarnaise expression “Pachets en renc” which means piquets (vine posts) en rang (in rows) and Vic-Bilh is the old name of the province. The Pacherenc du Vic-Bilh are discreet and surprising wines.

elaboration des vins de pacherenc vic du bilh
Production of Pacherenc

White wines produced from native grape varieties

The main grape varieties are the Petit or Gros Manseng and Petit Courbu, sometimes blended with the more minor varieties such as Arrufiac or indeed Sauvignon. Wines that once again bear witness to the fact that the Southwest is an astounding area of production for great whites.
NB: When a bottle has Pacherenc du Vic-Bilh on the label it is bound to be a sweet one. When it is dry, it will be specified.

Pacherenc du Vic-Bilh first range

Sweet Pacherenc du Vic-Bilh

The late harvests (vendanges passerillées*) have established the fame of Pacherenc. These sweet wines are intense and have lovely complexity. Balanced, they are defined by their aromatic richness and by their lovely freshness. The slow natural concentration of sugar in the grapes preserves the necessary acidity for this balance. The first grapes are generally harvested from mid November and the last harvest takes place on 31st December. For the sweet whites, the harvest is entirely hand picked.
* The passerillage (raisining) on the vine, is a small wonder of nature, helped by the hand of the winemaker, allowing the grapes to concentrate in sugars gradually.

Pacherenc du Vic-Bilh second range

Dry Pacherenc du Vic-Bilh

Less well known, the dry Pacherenc assumes a character even more confidential. With freshness as its keyword, its light, fruity, lively and fresh character gives easy-going and adaptable wines. Generally harvested at the same time as the Madiran or maybe a week before, they are harvested in cool temperatures to preserve the aromas.

Ambassador wines

Every year a blind tasting is organized to designate the wines that best represent the appellations of Madiran and Pacherenc du Vic-Bilh throughout the year. This election takes place every year and the selected wines will be used to promote the appellation during different operations: samples are sent to the press, to the Madiran Maison des Vins for tastings or used during the numerous events organized by the syndicate and its partners.

arrow-nextarrow-prev close cocotte hamburger lock logo-footerlogo-home-xs couvertstoque quote-closequote-open spiral twitterverre
Les vins de Pacherenc du Vic-Bilh

Les vins de Pacherenc du Vic-Bilh, la pépite confidentielle du Sud-Ouest

le Pacherenc du Vic-Bilh provient de la contraction d’une expression béarnaise « Pachets en renc » qui signifie : piquets (de vigne) en rang et le Vic-Bilh est le vieux pays. Les Pacherenc du Vic-Bilh sont des vins discrets et étonnants

elaboration des vins de pacherenc vic du bilh
Elaboration des Pacherenc

Des vins blancs élaborés à partir de cépages autochtones

Les cépages principaux sont le Petit ou Gros Manseng et Petit Courbu, assemblés parfois avec des cépages plus minoritaires de l’appellation comme l’Arrufiac ou encore le Sauvignon. Des vins qui viennent une fois de plus témoigner du fait que le Sud-Ouest est un formidable bassin de production de Grands Blancs.
NB : Lorsque c'est écrit Pacherenc du Vic-Bilh sur l'étiquette c'est forcément un doux, lorsque le vin est sec, c'est précisé.

Première gamme Pacherenc du Vic-Bilh

Le Pacherenc du Vic-Bilh doux

les vendanges passerillées* ont construit la renommée du Pacherenc. Ces doux sont intenses et d’une belle complexité. Équilibrés, ils se définissent par leur richesse aromatique et par une belle fraîcheur. La lente concentration naturelle en sucre des raisins préserve l’acidité nécessaire à cet équilibre. Les premiers raisins sont généralement vendangés à partir de mi-novembre et la dernière vendange a lieu le 31 décembre. Pour ces blanc doux, la vendange se fait totalement manuellement.
* Le passerillage sur souche, une petite merveille de la nature, aidée des mains des vigneronnes et vignerons, permettant au raisin de se concentrer en sucres petit à petit.

Première gamme Pacherenc du Vic-Bilh

Le Pacherenc du Vic-Bilh sec

Moins connu, le Pacherenc sec revêt un caractère encore plus confidentiel. Avec sa fraîcheur comme maître mot, son caractère fruité, léger à la fois vif et frais, en font des vins faciles à vivre, et à accommoder. Généralement vendangés en même temps que les Madiran voir une semaine avant, ils sont ramassés à la fraîcheur pour conserver les arômes.

Les vins ambassadeurs

Tous les ans une dégustation à l’aveugle est organisée pour désigner les vins qui représenteront le mieux les appellations Madiran et Pacherenc du Vic-Bilh tout au long de l’année.