arrow-nextarrow-prev close cocotte hamburger lock logo-footerlogo-home-xs couvertstoque quote-closequote-open spiral twitterverre
Madiran wines

Madiran wines, charismatic, modern and adaptable

Madiran is a singular wine.

Intense and endowed with delicate aromatic richness. Ample and dense, it is characterised by a lovely freshness and silky tannins.

Elaboration des madirans
The production of Madiran

Research is bubbling among Madiran winegrowers

The control and the maturity of the tannins is one of the priorities of the Madiran winegrowers : the perfect maturity of the grapes, duration of the vatting, extraction methods or even experiments on short or long macerations are carried out and revised (remontage (pumping-over), délestage (rack and return), pigeage (punch down)…) in a process of sharing expertise and pooling resources. A minimum of one years ageing (until 15th October of the year following the harvest) is an obligation to obtain the PDO.

The Madiran ranges

Madiran cannot be summed up as a single profile of wines, they are multiple. Nonetheless the signature of the appellation and its gourmet taste remain recognisable immediately. There are two styles of wines that each corresponds to different moments.

Madiran first range

The heart of the range

The ‘heart of the range’, also called Madiran ‘Tradition’, are the result of the blending of Tannat and the Cabernets. The wine is aged for a minimum of one year, mainly in vats. Nevertheless, part of the blend can spend some time in oak barrels. These are intense, fresh and fruity wines.

Madiran second range

The top of the range

Top of the range Madiran are matured in oak barrels for several months giving gourmet wines that are perfect for pairing with specific dishes of character. Best served between 16 and 18°C.
The ‘top of the range’ are wines where the Tannat is very dominant. They benefit from ageing for a minimum of a year in oak barrels. These are strong and elegant wines marked by aromas of toasted bread, leather, liquorice and spices. There are also some exceptional wines that highlight the finest terroirs in the appellation that are the pride of the Madiran wines.

Ambassador wines

Every year a blind tasting is organised to designate the wines that best represent the appellations of Madiran and Pacherenc du Vic-Bilh throughout the year. This election takes place every year and the selected wines will be used to promote the appellation during different operations : samples are sent to the press, to the Madiran Maison des Vins for tastings or used during the numerous events organised by the syndicate and its partners

arrow-nextarrow-prev close cocotte hamburger lock logo-footerlogo-home-xs couvertstoquequote-closequote-open spiral twitterverre
vins de madrian
Les vins de Madiran

Les vins de Madiran, des vins charismatiques, modernes et adaptatifs

Le Madiran est un vin singulier. Intense, pourvu d’une richesse aromatique délicate. Ample et dense, il est caractérisé par une belle fraîcheur et des tanins soyeux.

Elaboration des madirans
Elaboration des Madiran

La recherche bouillonne chez les vignerons de Madiran

La maîtrise et la maturité des tanins est une des priorités des vignerons de Madiran: juste maturité des raisins, durée de cuvaison, modes d’extraction ou encore expérimentations sur des macérations courtes ou longues sont opérées et repensées (remontage, délestage, pigeage…) dans une démarche de partage de compétence et de mutualisation des moyens. Un élevage d’un an minimum (jusqu’au 15 octobre de l’année suivant la récolte) est une obligation pour obtenir l’AOP.

Les gammes madiran

Madiran ne se résume pas à un seul profil de vins, ils sont multiples même si la signature de l’appellation et sa gourmandise n’en demeurent pas moins reconnaissables immédiatement. Texte sous le bloc : On dénombre ainsi deux styles de vins correspondants chacun à leurs moments.

Les coeurs de gamme

Les "coeurs de gamme" également appelés Madiran "Tradition", sont le fruit de l’assemblage de Tannat et de cabernets. Le vin effectue un élevage d’un an minimum principalement en cuve. Néanmoins une partie de l’assemblage peut être passé en fût de chêne. Ce sont des vins intenses, frais et fruités.

Les hauts de gamme

Les Madiran haut de gamme passent par un élevage en fût de chêne de plusieurs mois pour offrir des vins de gastronomie supportant les mets de caractère. Servir entre 16 et 18° .
Les "hauts de gamme" sont des cuvées où le Tannat est très dominant. Elles bénéficient d’un élevage d’un an minimum en fût de chêne. Ce sont des vins puissants et élégants marqués par des arômes de pain grillé, de cuir, de réglisse et d’épices. Il existe également quelques cuvées d'exception qui mettent en avant les plus beaux terroirs de l'appellation et qui font la gloire des vins de Madiran.

Les vins ambassadeurs

Tous les ans une dégustation à l’aveugle est organisée pour désigner les vins qui représenteront le mieux les appellations Madiran et Pacherenc du Vic-Bilh tout au long de l’année. Cette élection a lieu tous les ans et les vins sélectionnés seront utilisés pour promouvoir l’appellation lors des différentes actions : les échantillons envoyés à la presse, les dégustations à la Maison des Vins de Madiran ou lors des nombreux évènements organisés par le syndicat et les partenariats.