arrow-nextarrow-prev close cocotte hamburger lock logo-footerlogo-home-xs couvertstoque quote-closequote-open spiral twitterverre
Presentation of the grape varieties

The distinctive feature of the vineyards in the Southwest is that they benefit from a multitude of native grape varieties. Madiran and Pacherenc du Vic-Bilh are no exception to the rule as there are 6 native grape varieties.

A local grape variety is a variety of grapes native to the terroir where it’s grown. The grape variety is then characteristic of the vineyard where he’s located and therefore adapted to the soil and climate. This is the case with us!
6 grape varieties
Native
grape varieties

Tannat

Tannat is characterized by its big winged bunches of tight round berries and a long stalk. Its grapes are famous for being rich in polyphenols; this productive, though late variety is appreciated for the quality and the generosity of its tannins.

Red
Native
grape varieties

Fer Servadou

Fer Servadou, also called Pinenc, Mansois, Braucol, is a grape variety with medium sized bunches of firm and juicy berries that is characterized by its herbaceous taste. It is resistant to frosts and diseases. It is temperamental and benefits from a late maturation, although its growth speeds up and it matures fairly quickly.

Red
Native
grape varieties

Petit Manseng

A variety used mainly in the production of sweet Pacherenc du Vic-Bilh because its skin is tougher and therefore more resistant for the ripening of the grape. In fact, it is very resistant to botrytis (fungus) which means that it can be allowed to stay on the vine for a long time, thus encouraging the raisining of the grape musts extremely concentrated in sugar with significant acidity.

Dry white Sweet white
Native
grape varieties

Gros Manseng

A grape used mostly in the production of dry Pacherenc du Vic-Bilh because its skin is not too hard. The grape produces lots of pulp and juice, thanks to its medium sized bunches and small berries resistant to grey rot * (*also called Botrytis is the drying up of the grape by the action of the fungus). It has a good alcohol potential while maintaining a strong acidity.

Dry white Sweet white
Native
grape varieties

Petit Courbu

Characterised by short bunches with little golden berries at maturity. It allows for the production of fine and aromatic wines and can reinforce the complexity and improve the balance of dry white wines as well as the sweet ones.

Dry white Sweet white
Native
grape varieties

Arrufiac

A white variety with plenty of vigor and though sensitive to mildew and black-rot, it is reputed for its distinctive aromas. It is characterized by large bunches of small berries.

Dry white Sweet white

Cabernet Franc

Cabernet Franc is a Bordeaux grape, characterized by small bunches. It produces fruity wines, perfumed with fine tannins and subtle aromas of small red fruits and spices softer than those of Cabernet Sauvignon. Blended with Tannat it brings suppleness.

Red

Cabernet Sauvignon

Cabernet Sauvignon is the noble grape variety from Bordeaux which is a later variety than the Cabernet Franc. It is a vigorous and low yielding variety with great aromatic richness of dark fruit, violets and raspberries.

Red

arrow-nextarrow-prev close cocotte hamburger lock logo-footerlogo-home-xs couvertstoquequote-closequote-open spiral twitterverre
Les cepages en madiran et pacherenc du vic bilh
Présentation des cépages

La particularité des vignobles du sud-ouest est de jouir d’une multitudes de cépages autochtones. Madiran et Pacherenc du Vic-Bilh ne dérogent pas à la règle puisque l’on compte 6 cépages autochtones.

6 cépages
Le tannat
Cépage
autochtone

Tannat

Le Tannat est caractérisé par de grandes grappes ailées à baies rondes très serrées mais à long pédoncule.Ses raisins sont réputés pour être riches en polyphénols, ce cépage productif mais tardif est apprécié pour la qualité et la générosité de ses tannins.

Rouge
Fer Servadou
Cépage
autochtone

Fer Servadou

Fer Servadou aussi appelé Pinenc, Mansois, Braucol, est un cépage aux grappes de taille moyenne, aux baies fermes et juteuses il est caractérisé par son goût herbacé. Il est résistant au gel et aux maladies, il est capricieux et bénéficie d'une maturation tardive mais sa croissance s’accélère et il arrive à maturité assez rapidement.

Rouge
Petit manseng
Cépage
autochtone

Petit Manseng

Cépage utilisé majoritairement dans l'élaboration des Pacherenc du Vic-Bilh doux car sa peau est plus dure et donc plus résistante pour la maturation du raisin. En effet il est très résistant au botrytis (champignon) ce qui lui permet d'être conservé plus longtemps sur le cep, favorissant ainsi le passerillage des moûts extrêmement concentrés en sucres avec une acidité importante.

Blanc doux
Gros manseng
Cépage
autochtone

Gros Manseng

Cépage utilisé majoritairement dans l'élaboration des Pacherenc du Vic-Bilh secs car sa peau n'est pas trop dure, le raisin produit beaucoup de pulpe et de jus, grâce à ses grappes moyennes et petites baies resistantes à la pourriture grise* (*également appelée Botrytis est le désèchement du raisin par l'action d'un champignon). Il possède un bon potentiel alcoolique en conservant une forte acidité.

Blanc
Petit corbu
Cépage
autochtone

Petit Courbu

Caractérisé par des grappes courtes à petites baies dorées à maturité, il permet l'élaboration de vins fins et aromatiques et peut notamment renforcer la complexité et améliorer l'équilibre des vins blancs secs commes des doux.

Blanc Blanc doux
Cépage
autochtone

Arrufiac

Cépage blanc de bonne vigueur, assez sensible au mildiou et au black-rot est réputé pour la typicité de ses arômes. Il est caractérisé par de grosses grappes à petites baies.

Blanc Blanc doux
Cabernet franc

Cabernet Franc

Le cabernet franc est un cépage bordelais, caractérisé par de petites grappes, il produit des vins fruités, parfumés aux tannins fins et aux arômes subtils de petits fruits rouges et d’épices plus tendres que ceux du cabernet sauvignon. Assemblé au Tannat, il apporte de la souplesse

Rouge
Cabernet sauvignon

Cabernet Sauvignon

Le cabernet sauvignon est quant à lui le cépage noble du bordelais, plus tardif que le Cabernet franc. C’est un cépage vigoureux et à faible production, il est doté d’une richesse aromatique aux notes de fruits noirs, de violettes, et de framboises.

Rouge